Generations and car ownership

The Times piece about petrolheads that I referenced in the previous post got me thinking about one other point.  Around where I live, you don’t often see souped up, modified, cars.  However, you do see significant numbers of older, classic cars, which have been preserved.  They may be a very small proportion of the cars on the road, but think of any model of car which was sold in the 1960s/1970s/1980s in the UK, and there’s probably at least one still running within a few miles from me.  Just last weekend I saw a 1960s Lotus Elan, now an extremely rare car, which somebody had obviously put a lot of effort into maintaining, parked up the road from me.

I’d noticed this and assumed it to be a curious little demographic ripple around north London; the sort of thing that doesn’t show up in the Acorn categories that appear in http://www.upmystreet.com/ .  But I wonder if this effect is in fact more widespread, and it’s really a sign that baby boomers, and not the younger generations, are the people who might spend money on a slightly frivolous car.

One Response to “Generations and car ownership”

  1. Cormac Heron Says:

    Linked to your previous post I suppose, I was talking with a classic car collector – he’s after a Talbot Lago, the holy grail of classic cars – and he explained to me how old cars are better for the environment arguing that new fuel-efficient cars take loads of effort to put their factories in place and creating pollution. Interesting point I thought.

Leave a Reply

