Living the case study

After a lot of prevarication, I’ve finally got round to replacing my old Nokia mobile phone with – a new Nokia mobile phone.  And this isn’t a phone developed out of Nokia’s work on personal organisers etc; it’s still a phone, and its main functions are still to handle phone calls and text messages.  So my experience is consistent with my ideas about how different brands of smartphone are perceived – that Nokia remains the brand for people who want to use it as a phone.

It is slimmer than its predecessor.  If Nokia achieved success by replacing phones that looked like bricks with phones that looked like chocolate bars, this new phone has more of the form of an elongated Bahlsen biscuit.  And it does have much better web browsing than the very rudimentary facilities that I had before – good enough that one day I will try and sync it with my email.  Which leads me to one slight concern, that I might have chosen the phone that’s right for my pattern of use over the last couple of years, and that I might want something different in the future as more mobile services become available.

It also comes with maps on a disc, and (though I haven’t yet learned how to use it) built in satellite navigation.  So it fits a point that I make when using satnav as a case study of the effect of a disruptive technology – that sat nav systems may well be made obsolete soon by applications on smart phones

Leave a Reply

