Why 403?

WordPress provides blog owners, such as myself, with a neat ‘dashboard’ that includes a convenient bar chart showing how many views I’ve had over the last few days (partial screen dump to the right).  Just recently, I’ve found that if I try to view the dashboard from most places except my desk at work, the bar chart doesn’t appear, and instead I get a simple ‘403’ message implying that I’m not allowed to view the chart.

So far I haven’t been able to find much on the Internet about what could cause this, except that the dashboard might possibly object to the IP address that my computer is connected to.  But I get this with my laptop whether I’m at home, or at the university where I work, or in the British Library, and the computer will be assigned a different IP address in each of these cases – which is a bit of a mystery

Leave a Reply

